A positive headline among the muck of journalism trends

Well this one caught me by surprise.

I was treating myself to a daily dose of headlines from Poynter and Romenesko today. I read one clipping which told the story of a Detroit Free Press staffer who was made to attend a training session on the very day she was laid off. “What’s new?” I thought. I’ve grown accustomed to feeding my mind with articles about yet another layoff, buyout, etc. common to the newspaper industry.

A colleague then turned my attention to another Romenesko story, which detailed the development that McClatchy has in fact lifted its wage freeze, effective the first pay period of 2015.

The first positive headline I’ve read in some time. Perhaps McClatchy is on the cusp of a promising trend.

-djg

Leave a Reply

