Latest awards from MDDC Press Association

I’ve been in South Carolina now for about five months. I left The Frederick News-Post in Frederick, Md. to join the ranks at the Herald-Journal in Spartanburg, S.C. and I couldn’t be happier here. That said, I am pleased to feel as if I made a true impact at my last newspaper.

Photo by Bill Green

Photo by Bill Green

I learned Friday that two of my stories I had written in 2013 earned a first-place spot in the division for daily newspapers with 30,000 – 75,000 circulation. The MDDC Press Association annual awards banquet was held in Baltimore Friday.

The first place article for General News Story was my in-depth look at the “War on Heroin” and how law enforcement is grappling with the drug’s trend. You can find that article here.

My other first-place story was a bit of long-form journalism, the result of a 30-hour embed at one of the nation’s oldest and largest Catholic seminaries. I dove into the life and calling of seminarians who are each on “The Path to Priesthood.” That story submitted in the Religion Reporting category can be found here.

Photo by Graham Cullen

Photo by Graham Cullen

I am honored to receive such validation and I have the utmost appreciation for The Frederick News-Post in helping me foster those experience.

I only hope to continue that fervor and keep my nose to the grindstone to see what else I can come up this year.

Leave a Reply

