From one newspaper to another

Maps, 10-codes, mug shots and a tip sheet for the do’s and don’t of cops reporting line the sides of my cubicle. Past media credentials are displayed above my desk phone. Soon, another badge will join the ranks — I’ve accepted a new reporter job at the Herald-Journal in South Carolina.

The small square space in this Frederick News-Post newsroom is the place I’ve called home for the past seven months.
While the time was short in Frederick, Md., the experiences were unforgettable.
The Frederick News-Post hired me as their cops reporter in late-May. Two weeks later I married the love of my life and took a two-week honeymoon, so really, I didn’t get my feet wet until mid-June. Time flies.

Between then and now I’ve covered plenty of fatal crashes, shootings, stabbings, department issues, house fires, drug busts, heroin investigations, public safety budgets, an arson-suicide and a double-murder-suicide involving an infant son and a surviving 5-year-old.
I’ve done ride-alongs, target practice with a 9 mm, dodged simulation bullets down a narrow hallway during FBI drills, rummaged through drugs and evidence alongside narcotics officers and even embedded in one of the country’s oldest Catholic seminaries for 30 hours.
I’ve spoken with grieving parents, and grieving children.
I’ve been knee-deep in data to report on anything from the “Price of Patrol” to the trends in shots-fired calls from one end of the city to the other.

I can say with gratitude and appreciation, my time here has not been wasted. Rather than sit on the sidelines, I jumped into the ring, so to speak, and tried to soak up each moment the best I could.
Frederick County has been such an interesting place to work as a crime reporter. Its moments of lull have always been followed by excitement and intrigue.
The News-Post has been an even better place for which to wield a press pass and it is truly sad to leave.

I have accepted a position as a crime reporter for the Herald-Journal in Spartanburg, SC and I trust that the newsroom that I’ll soon call home will offer just as many opportunities to shine.
I’ll bring with me my desire to make a difference no matter where I am, to bring a voice to the silent, to expose injustice and to inform.

I’m overwhelmed with excitement for what lies ahead and I look forward to settling into Upstate South Carolina.
In the words of a former mentor, “Let’s see what these cowboys are up to.”

20131223-075043.jpg

20131223-075159.jpg

20131223-075246.jpg

20131223-075308.jpg

Comments are closed.