Here’s to Etsy and the value of crafting

Oak Leaf Crafts

It’s been several weeks now since I’ve begun to understand the concept of Etsy. Sure I knew what it was as well as any other person knowledgeable of this sort of thing, but I must say it’s peaked my interest more than I first imagined.

For those of you that are hearing the word “Etsy” for the first time, quite simply it’s an online marketplace for all things handmade. Similar to Amazon.com where a user can create their own shop and list items for sale except these shop owners are only able to lists things they have actually made themselves. Browsing through random shops you can find anything from handmade jewelry to original paintings to knitted scarfs to stitched wallets and purses.

So why am I talking about Etsy?

My fiancée, being the amazing artist that she is, decided to set up a shop after one of her best friends convinced her to turn her crafts and artwork into something she could promote and sell, exposing herself to others artists and residents around the globe at the same time. Please visit her shop, Oak Leaf Crafts.

Since joining, I’ve seen a new spark in her eye. She’s motivated, she’s creative, she’s taken the hobby of crafting to a whole new level. Currently, there are lots of fun things in her digital shop – mainly jewelry made from clay, paint and glass – and she has a diverse inventory of other great things on the way.

Most importantly for me, she’s gained a profound attraction to technology and the web. Hearing anyone mention linking blog posts to content and the benefiting from SEO it’s truly exciting when it’s coming from someone who’s made no mention of such things before.

It seems as if Etsy, a modern day artist’s marketplace, is shining light on some of today’s most technological tools.

Comments
6 Responses to “Here’s to Etsy and the value of crafting”
  1. Werner says:

    First off I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to
    writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in
    getting my thoughts out. I do take pleasure in writing
    however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any recommendations or tips? Kudos!

  2. ebook says:

    This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a
    reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can
    remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

  4. Hi, every time i used to check webpage posts here early in the morning, for the reason that i love to find out
    more and more.

  5. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was
    doing a little homework on this. And he in
    fact ordered me breakfast simply because I discovered it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this issue here on your site.

  6. Aundrea says:

    fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this.
    You should continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base
    already!

Leave a Reply

