Google’s second attempt to break into the social sphere: The +1 button

After Google Buzz launched, the public saw Google’s intentions to try and get a foot in the door to the ever popular social networking scene. Since then, Buzz has lost it’s luster (if it ever had any), and Google has been scuffling around trying to figure out how to saturate this market.

And so +1 was revealed just several weeks ago. Google’s +1 button is another attempt at socializing the Internet experience in a way that’s almost been done plenty of times before, some would say.

But to Google, this is something that will change the way word gets around and will aid in the online content decision process. The way it works is simple: A button will be shown next to an article, a product, a web page, an item, a video, etc. When someone clicks that button, they have publicly “+1’d” or basically “liked” that item for all to see. So when you see something you like, you click the button and now your friends can see that you’ve liked it if they come across the same item online.

So far, I have seen the button in a lot of different places, mostly YouTube videos and Google Shopping or Google search results, but I haven’t seen any likes, as in each of the button’s counters are stuck at zero. I suppose it just takes time for the numbers to start flowing in. That or people are just comfortable “Liking” online items via Facebook. For the time being, I’m even displaying the button on my own site’s posts, just to see if it gets some use (see below).

But don’t take my commentary to heart. Check out Google’s promotional video here to see what it’s all about.

Comments
5 Responses to “Google’s second attempt to break into the social sphere: The +1 button”
  1. Penelope says:

    Anyway, I’m blown away by your idea here, I will definitely register for your RSS feed! Thank you!

  2. www.put3.com says:

    Thanks a lot for giving everyone an extraordinarily remarkable chance to discover important secrets from here.
    It really is very kind plus jam-packed with a great time for me
    and my office acquaintances to search your site particularly three times per week to read through the newest items
    you have got. And definitely, I’m always pleased for the unbelievable pointers you give. Selected two points in this posting are ultimately the very best we have ever had.

  3. Jillian says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where you got this from. Appreciate it!

  4. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your
    blog and look forward to new updates. Regards!

  5. Leandro says:

    Hiya! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a theme
    or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. The info has been so very much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

