Towerlight: Take control, place your vote

Photo courtesy Casey Prather/ The Towerlight

If you haven’t noticed yet, or have noticed but just don’t care, the grassy knoll outside of Towson University’s Administration Building has become a political war zone.

A plethora of colors and fonts can be seen around the perimeter of the buildings parking lot – distracting commuters and onlookers.

Still wondering what it’s all for? That’s a problem.

This year, Maryland has early voting for the primary election. Not only is this a first for Maryland and a push to increase voter turnout, this is also the first time Towson University has been a polling location.

That should explain all of the yard signs. Local candidates are taking advantage of the location and rightfully so. But the main point here is not to see all of the colorful signs, it’s to get out and vote.

Even though this is not a presidential election, doesn’t mean that this election doesn’t matter. In fact, this is where it all starts and this is where you can truly make a difference.

Sometimes, due to the actions of some politicians, it’s hard to realize that these figures are actually “elected representatives” and work for us.

No seriously, we pay for their paychecks. Within all of our tax dollars, a portion of it goes to their salary. And in turn, they are to listen to our thoughts, opinions and votes and make decisions for our benefit.

That’s why your vote really does matter and that’s why as citizens it’s our duty to be educated on the issues and choose to vote for the best candidate based on those issues and not based on celebrity-style appearance or ability to woo an audience.

And if you’re saying, “I don’t live in Baltimore County, so it doesn’t matter for me,” please think again. It’s very common to register to have an absentee ballot sent to your current location so you can still have a vote for your permanent residence.

To read the full story, click here.

Comments
13 Responses to “Towerlight: Take control, place your vote”
  1. Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  2. Good post. I will defiantely be back to rea more articles.

  3. Yuette Sirls says:

    I am impressed with this internet site , rattling I am a big fan .

  4. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made sure good points in options also.

  5. Leon Schauf says:

    I don’t unremarkably comment but I gotta say thankyou for the post on this one : D.

  6. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  7. camps ados says:

    Interesting point of view.Thanks for the post. – Once you’ve put one of his books down, you simply can’t pick it up again. (talking about Henry James) – Mark Twain 1835 – 1910

  8. Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic.

  9. I enjoy reading a post that makes people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  10. Did you see the free iPhone 4’s verizon is giving away to help test their new iPhone service? http://bit.ly/fTZcra

  11. You completed certain fine points there. I did a search on the topic and found a good number of persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

  12. I just discovered your web site on yahoo and see that you’ve got some fantastic thoughts in this post. I particularly appreciate the way you’ve been able to stick so very much thought into a relatively short submit (comparitively) which creates it an thoughtful post on your topic. IMHO you set lots of good information in this submit not having all of the filler that most bloggers use just to make their posts appear longer, that is perfect for a gal like me who doesn’t have a lot time trigger I’m usually within the go. I often get so frustrated with so many of the final outcomes in the main SE’s due to the truth they often seem to mostly be filled with filler content that often isn’t quite sensible. If you don’t mind I am going to include this post and your weblog to my delicious favorites so I can share it with my family. I appear forward to coming back to study your future posts too.

  13. I’m fairly new to all this things and its blowing my mind. Thank you for this site about this and all of the uploads you are doing here. Without sites like this and people like you that are willing to show music like this, I’d never be able to hear all of this wonderful things.

Leave a Reply

