First Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

The dragonfly has many unique characteristics. This insect is mainly known for its two pairs of strong transparent wings, it’s multiple sets of eyes and its elongated body. One thing that makes these small creatures valuable to humans and other wildlife is that they prey on mosquitoes.

I found this dragonfly on the back deck of my parents house in Southern Maryland. This is the first chance I’ve had to photograph a dragonfly this close. In my mind, I think God gave me a pretty amazing experience seeing how unique this insect looks when it is up close.

Leave a Reply

